Board of Supervisors

Board of Supervisors

Board Minutes County Ordinances Notices & Publications

Click HERE for Board meeting dates for 2024.

Click HERE for a listing of County holidays.

The pacesetter for county government is the five-member Board of Supervisors.  This Board is the chief policy making and administrative body for the county.  For the purpose of selecting a Board of Supervisor each county is divided into five districts, commonly referred to as “beats”.  Each district elects a Supervisor who serves a four year term.

While each Supervisor handles administrative duties in his or her district, together the members set policy for the county.  While each Supervisor represents his district, all of the members are expected to look after the good of the county as a whole.

Many people think that road construction and maintenance to roads and bridges are the only things Supervisors do.  It is a very important job.  Each supervisor is responsible for hundreds of miles of local highways and roads.  The Board can also set traffic regulations for the county roads.  But, the board must look after many things in addition to roads.

The power to tax and the power to appropriate and budget funds are the two most significant powers the Board exercises.  With these powers, the Board decides which part of county government gets the largest slice of the “budget pie”.

The Board can borrow money for the county.  It must comply with various purchasing and administrative laws designed for economically and efficient government.  It approves the county bills before they are paid, commonly referred to as the “claims docket”.

Board meetings are held at least once a month in most counties.  In Clay County, the Board of Supervisors meetings are held the first Monday, the first Thursday following the first Monday, and the fourth Thursday of each month, and the Board has set a few nightly meetings as well.  For a listing of their upcoming meetings, click here.

All meetings are open to the public and are held at the Courthouse in the Board Room.  The Board serves a unique role in Mississippi Counties- it is the one body which supervises almost everything that goes on in county government.

Currently, the Clay County Board of Supervisors are as follows: (Click on Supervisor’s name for more information)


The addresses for the County Sheds are as follows:

  • District 1, 302 Barton Ferry Rd, West Point, MS
  • District 2, 1981 Old Tibbee Rd, West Point, MS
  • District 3, 4962 Hwy 46, Cedarbluff, MS
  • District 4, 7390 R B Rd, Prairie, MS
  • District 5, 21572 Hwy 50 W, Pheba, MS

Other individuals who assist the Board in their duties are as follows:

Ann Wilkerson
Board Secretary
P O Box 815
West Point, MS  39773
(662) 494-3313 Office
(662) 492-4059 Fax
Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

LaFrance Boyd
Clerk of the Board of Supervisors
P. O. Box 815
West Point, MS  39773
(662) 494-3124 Office
(662) 492-4059 Fax

Angela Turner Ford
Board Attorney